Customer Disservice

Normally, I’m a pretty big fan of UPS.  Over the years, they’ve delivered a lot of stuff to me, and they’re usually pretty reliable.  I wasn’t too surprised or dismayed to see that a package I’d ordered from Sears had failed its first delivery because Sears marked the package “signature required”.  Now, if Sears had indicated that they were going to require a signature, I’d have sent the package to a Sears store to begin with and avoided this whole problem, but I was pretty sure this wouldn’t be a big deal — I’d just tell UPS to hold my package at their distribution center and go pick it up.

So, I logged on to UPS and found I had the following options for my package:

(1) Send the package back to the sender.

Yup.  That’s it.  No #2.  So, I called UPS, and it turns out that they couldn’t hold my package because Sears “won’t let them make delivery changes”.  No, I didn’t understand that, either.  They recommended I contact Sears, and the first contact info I found for Sears was a “chat” option, so I fired that bad boy up, and here’s what transpired.

I’m not making this up:

………………………………………………

Please wait for a Sears Customer Service Representative to respond. This chat may be monitored or recorded for quality assurance purposes. Thank you for holding.

Hi, my name is Ramon, and it is my pleasure to assist you today. May I have your name?

Ramon: I see you have placed an order with us.  While I am pulling it up, please tell me how can I help?

you: I had this order shipped to my home via UPS. It’s marked as “requires signature”, but I’m not at home during the day.

Ramon: Good Evening.

you: I just called UPS with the info notice number so I could have the package held at a UPS location, and they said they couldn’t make changes because of something Sears has done w/ the order.

you: The only option they’re giving me is to return it to sender.

Ramon: Thank you.

Ramon: I will be happy to check the order for you.

you: They’re going to make another attempt to deliver the package tomorrow, but alas, I’m going to be at work again tomorrow.

you: What I need to do is to have it held at the UPS counter so I can pick it up there.

you: I’ve never had any problems at all making that happen via UPS with a tracking number, so I’m really not sure what’s gone wrong here.

Ramon: I would suggest you to contact our UPS team at 1-800-742-5877 and you can pick up the item from the UPS hub.

you: I just spoke to UPS at that number.

you: They said they couldn’t make changes to delivery because of something Sears had done on this shipment.

you: I can’t change any delivery options, so I can’t have it held.

Ramon: Someone above 18 years of age will be able to pick up the item

Ramon: I am sorry.

you: Yeah, great. I’m over 18.

you: The problem is that I can’t have UPS hold the package at their location so I can pick it up.

Ramon: Someone above 18 years of ages is necessary to received the item.

you: HEY!!

you: I’m over 18!!

you: Are you reading this?

you: It’s not going to do anyone any good to put the package on a truck again tomorrow morning, ok?

you: I need it held at the UPS location.

you: I cannot accomplish this with UPS because Sears has told UPS they can’t change delivery options.

Ramon: I mean, if you are not able to receive the item as you will go to office, anyone above 18 years can received the item.

you: If I go to the office w/o the package being marked “hold for pickup”, it will not be there — it will be on a truck.

you: Therefore, I need to have UPS hold the package for me to pick up.

you: UPS has already said they will make three attempts to deliver the package. One has occurred.

you: The next two will fail, because I work.

you: You know — to pay for the stuff I just ordered from you?

Ramon: I will forward this issue to our UPS team and will contact you back with the address for picking up the item.

you: So, I’d like to have UPS *not* put the package on their truck tomorrow, and I will go to where the package is.

you: Ok, that’ll be fine.

you: Will you be able to email that to me?

you: Please send updates to [my email address]

you: Thanks.

Ramon: Ups team will send you an email.

Ramon: I am sorry, just to check , are you still their online with me?

Ramon: I’m sorry, I didn’t receive a response. You may call 1-800-349-4358 or try again later, whichever is more convenient. Thank you for visiting us at Sears.com.

Thank you for chatting with us. Please click the “Close” button on the top right of the chat window to tell us how we did today.

………………………………………………

[Update – Jan 17]  I called Sears back when I had a chance and spoke to a human being.  This guy claimed to have made a change to have the package held at UPS for me, but I just got another tracking update from UPS saying that they’d made another delivery attempt today, and that the third and final delivery attempt is scheduled for tomorrow.  Of course, my plans for tomorrow still include working, so I don’t expect that endeavor to go any more successfully than the prior two have.  Sigh.

2 thoughts on “Customer Disservice

Leave a Reply

