Sears / UPS megafail update

Sears

Sears (Photo credit: justj0000lie)

It’s day three of my Sears & UPS delivery debacle, and the hits just keep coming.  Yesterday, I posted a transcript of my chat with a Sears customer service bot, where I tried to get them to change the delivery instructions on my package from Sears.  Sears marked my delivery as “signature required”, you see, and I’m at work and unavailable to sign for the package.  I’d like to have UPS hold the package, and I’ll go sign for it at their facility.

Not too difficult to accomplish, one might think, but this goal is so far eluding both Sears and UPS.

I tweeted link to the post yesterday, copying both @Sears and @UPS.  Encouragingly, representatives from both teams contacted me quickly to offer their assistance, but sadly, neither one of them has been able to make a lick of difference.  I’ll start with Sears.  They followed me instantly and asked me to DM them my contact info.  Good enough, so far — at least they followed me so I could DM them.  I sent in my contact info, though, and received a public reply on twitter indicating that I was “next in line”:

Sears Cares Sears Cares
@searscares
@dlambert Thanks for the information. The next available case manager will email you to assist. Thanks again, Dianne cc:@Sears

That was at 4:30pm yesterday.  I haven’t heard a peep from them since.  So that sort of wraps up my experience with Sears — er, sorry — “Sears Cares”.

My experience with UPS is a little more interesting, but no less ineffective.  In their case, they also asked for my info (to be sent by email) and then looked up my tracking number and confirmed (just like Wednesday night) that they couldn’t make any changes to my shipment because “Sears has restricted the package”.  I took that opportunity to craft an email to UPS in the hopes that the person I was dealing

with *might* have access to an actual decision-maker:

Thanks – that’s exactly what I heard from UPS customer service last night. I understand that this problem originates with Sears, but inasmuch as it makes you guys look bad by association, it might be nice if you had the ability to override a boneheaded move by one of your customers.

English: A United Parcel Service Van (package ...

Somewhere, my package is riding around on a brown truck.  Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hopefully, the social media team at UPS has a little better access to decision-makers there, because someone should review what’s gone on here. At this point, my package has been cruising around Columbus on a brown truck for the better part of the last two days, and despite my best efforts, plus the those of at least one customer service rep and yourself, we’ve been unable to get the package to stop in one place long enough for me to catch up with it and sign for acceptance.

Although I can see how this problem *began* with Sears, UPS sure appears to be part of the problem now. Prior to this episode, I’ve always had great experiences with UPS. You were the first shipper that let me receive email updates on delivery status (years ago), and I’ve used your online systems on many occasions to hold packages for pickup in exactly this sort of situation.

I cannot believe that this is a freak use case — for either you or Sears. Maybe this is an opportunity for someone at UPS to have a strategic conversation with someone at Sears so you can coach them up a bit on how to do logistics well (that’s what you *do*, isn’t it?). I truly believe you guys are capable of helping Sears with this, and I also believe that with your help, they can be a better customer for UPS.
-David

Sadly, it appears that wasn’t the case.  Here’s the response I got from UPS:

David,

 

I can appreciate the perspective you have as the receiver of the package and how difficult this situation is. Unfortunately the restrictions placed on the package are a contractual decision made by Sears for this account. I apologize that we have no way to hold the package for you.

 

Thank you,

(name withheld)

So, there you have it.  It’s now delivery day three, and UPS’s tracking info shows that my package is once again, somewhere on the streets of Columbus on a brown truck, and I’m powerless to intercept it.

I’ll try reaching out to @Sears and @UPS once more, and update my results here.

In the meantime, remember — “Sears Cares”.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “Sears / UPS megafail update

  1. […] If you’ve been following along, you’ll know that I’ve had something of an adventure trying to purchase a garage door opener from Sears online.  Specifically, the logistical challenges of  shipping my package via UPS turned out to be just a little too much for Sears’ customer service team. […]

Leave a Reply

